top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kaye

Quarterly Book Reviews: March - June 2018


As 2018 reaches the halfway mark, I look back on the goals I set for myself this second quarter. This quarter was pretty hectic for me and I didn’t reach every goal I set out to accomplish in March, but I can’t say I’m disappointed either! I got to read some great books, started a new WIP, and (mostly) kept up with my blog. I read a total of eight books these past three months, and I’m excited to share my thoughts with you.



Genre: YA Contemporary … and Paranormal

One line summary: You can read a young debut author’s struggles with publishing while also reading her book!

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


This has been one of my favorite reads of the whole year. Afterworlds really hit home for me as a young aspiring author. Every other chapter is either Darcy’s story as she struggles with publishing the book she wrote during Nanowrimo, or her character, Lizzie's, tale as she survives a terrorist attack and then is welcomed to the world of the afterlife--even though she is still alive. I found myself really sucked into both stories, and I loved the way they were juxtaposed. I wasn’t sure at first how I would feel alternating between two almost completely separate stories, but Westerfeld is a genius that way. Just as I became invested in one story, I get pulled into the other, so it felt like a quick adventure rather than the huge tome it is. I highly recommend this book, especially for anyone who hopes to be traditionally published author!



Genre: YA Fantasy

One line summary: A young girl takes her mother’s throne before she should and has to go on an adventure in order to prove she’s worthy of it to both her people and herself.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Full review here.


I was gifted this book as an ARC from my friend Tyffany, and I have to say I was so excited to receive it! There is always that fear that someone you are close with will write something that you can’t honestly recommend, but as soon as I opened Imber I was hooked. I devoured it. This book is so sweet and I quickly fell in love with the characters. I genuinely love this book and I’m so happy to see it released into the world! I expect awesome things from Hackett in the future. I have a more in-depth review on GoodReads at the link above.



Genre: YA Fantasy

One line summary: It’s like How to Train Your Dragon but less endearing.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


I read this book for a book club that I participated in this quarter. It started out interestingly enough, but I soon realized that the characters truly lacked a depth that made the story a little unbearable. It got better around 70% of the way through, but I still couldn’t say I honestly cared about the main characters’ journey, and it was too late to save the book. I gave the book three stars because it did have some excellent worldbuilding, interesting folklore and concept, and was easy to read. I was interested to see how it would wrap up. But I didn’t like the lack of depth in the characters, the cliches, and a storyline that didn’t live up to its potential. I wouldn’t recommend this book.



Genre: YA Fantasy

One line summary: Snow White except she’s a princess on the moon and she teams up with cyborg Cinderella, badass little red riding hood, and techno-geek Rapunzel to defeat her evil Stepmother.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Okay, this book blew me away. I have always loved the Lunar Chronicles, and I had high expectations for the fourth and final book in the series. I was also nervous, though, since there were so many storylines that had to be wrapped up. With this 800 page monster in my hands, I was worried it would ramble and go directions it didn’t need to. Luckily, it didn’t feel as long as it was at all because I was completely riveted from page 1. This book is a fantastic ending to the series that left me feeling more than satisfied. If you haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles yet, I’m not really sure what you’re doing.



Genre: YA Fantasy (there seems to be a pattern here…)

One line summary: The second installment to a series about a world oppressed by dark magic and a hero born with the power of light.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


This trilogy by Leigh Bardugo is brilliantly written fantasy story that follows all normal YA fantasy conventions but somehow still feels really fresh and new. The world is unique and well-developed, the characters are fascinating (especially the broody antagonist, the Darkling), and the plot line is full of constant ups and downs. I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves fantasy!





Genre: Adult Fantasy

One line summary: A girl learns magic, joins a crew of loveable criminals, and attempts to overthrow an evil emperor.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


This is another book club read. I was intimidated by the size at first, especially as it was one of my first adult epic fantasy reads (I tend to read more YA…if you couldn’t tell). Honestly, it took a while to get into. There’s a lot of worldbuilding and setup that feels pretty slow at first. Towards the end of part one I started to get invested in the main character’s story. I liked watching Vin’s internal and external struggle, and the magic system in this book is extremely unique and fascinating. There were a lot of twists and turns, and halfway through I couldn’t put it down. Even though it is part of a series, it felt really complete to me. I ended up really enjoying it! I gave it four stars since it was slow for me for a while, but otherwise I really liked it. I recommend this to fantasy lovers!



Genre: Christian

One line summary: Thomas wants to become a priest, but has to deal with a lot of real life struggles that test his faith.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐


This was another book sent to me by a friend. I don’t usually read Christian lit, so some of the ideas might not have hit home the way it would for a more faithful person, but it was an interesting read. I think the main character’s struggles are mostly realistic and he has some of the same doubts that I had at his age. I recommend this for lovers of Christian lit.








Genre: Nonfiction Graphic Novel

One line summary: Alesia Shute describes her struggle with childhood illness and the lessons she’s learned in her happy and full life after.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I received a free copy of this book at a fundraiser I participate in annually which benefits my local Children’s Miracle Network Hospital, the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Shute has both a novel and a comic version of her story, and after seeing the beautiful drawings by Adam Leuth, I opted for the comic. This book was a really inspiring story of Shute’s life as a little girl struggling for normalcy despite life-threatening illness, and the woman she grows up to be. It is a quick, inspiring read. Not to mention all proceeds from her books go directly to the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia! As someone who personally fundraises for CHOP every year, I love that now I have a book to recommend along with donations as well! Check it out here.


There you have it! Hopefully I get the chance to continue reading some amazing books in quarter three. Have you read any of the books mentioned above? I’d love to hear your thoughts!


Peace out,

Grace K.


Don't forget to subscribe for updates to my website!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page