top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kaye

How I Taught Myself to Write

Updated: Aug 5, 2018



I decided to seriously write a book in college because I was bored one summer. Imagine my surprise when it turned out to be really hard. Writing a novel proved to be nothing like writing papers or the silly stories I’d penned as a teen.

Writing a novel takes a lot of skill, studying, practice, and hard work.

As I wrote the first drafts of my novel, I also started to study storytelling as an art and skill set. It was like having another college major, and I treated it as such. I read articles, watched videos, and wrote wrote wrote. My story and platform eventually evolved into something amazing, but for the most part I’m self-taught. Creative writing is easy to learn on your own--and I want to share with you my favorite resources for writing.

1. Blogs

I know this sounds like shameless self-promotion, but the reason I started this blog is because writing blogs were what kick-started my own writing. When I was struggling with the first draft of my story, I went on Pinterest and followed a bunch of a writing blogs. It’s easy to find them on Pinterest--I definitely recommend that platform to find a lot of topical writing blogs. You can follow my Writing Tips board here to find some starters.

I devoured these blogs. Many of them are written by self-published, self-starting authors who genuinely want to help other writers. As I read, I realized that many of topics they wrote about were things that I as a budding writer struggled with. I learned how to plan, name, world build, develop characters and plots, and everything else. Reading blogs is an excellent starting place for drafting and I owe a lot to those bloggers for inspiring me as a newbie.

Some of my favorites:

2. AuthorTube and BookTube

When reading blog after blog started to get repetitive, I discovered the magical world of AuthorTube and BookTube. In other words, YouTubers who vlog about writing and books. BookTubers and AuthorTubers offer different things (though some channels are both): BookTubers will teach you what readers want, and AuthorTubers will teach you about craft. I recommend both for writers! There are so many lovely personalities on YouTube that create vlogs with similar content to the blogs listed above. Sometimes it’s easier to sit and listen to your fave instead of slogging through Pinterest.

Some of my favorites:

3. Writing Communities

This one is a little harder, because this means you have to really put yourself out there and engage with others. After getting into some YouTubers, I realized that I needed my own writing platform if I was ever going to make it as a writer. I had a blog, but I started my Instagram in order to promote it. What I quickly found was that the writing community on Instagram was quick to help each other out and develop relationships. I joined a writing group on IG and it has been one of the best decisions I’ve made! The writers in my group have helped me grow as a writer so much. Most of my beta readers and CPs come from Instagram. My advice to you is that despite all those blogs and vlogs, find a writing community that you can engage with. It will be your greatest resource.

Recommended places to look:

  • Instagram! If you want to meet writers I suggest looking at #MayLitWrit, #WritersFollowWriters, and #WritersOfInstagram

  • Tumblr. Look at #writeblr and follow other blogs by writers.

  • Twitter. Join a writing challenge, like #WIPjoy, or follow tags like #amwriting.

  • Reddit. I’m not a part of any of those groups but look for subreddits about writing, especially in your genre.

  • Facebook. Again, I’m not on Facebook, but there’s a ton of pages/groups for writers.

  • YouTube. Start a channel, why not?

4. Read books

This seems obvious, but I actually see a lot of writers that fail to do this. If you want to write a book, read one. Read in the genre you want to write. Read books that tackle issues you are tackling. If you struggle with world building, read books with vivid worlds. If you struggle with characters, read books with a ton of fascinating characters. I’m not saying you have to read 100 books a year--I can’t even do that. But make reading a goal for yourself just like writing is. Read a book a month. Or read for ten minutes a day. Whatever it is, find time to read. Reading blogs & vlogs is like doing your homework. Reading is actually showing up to class.

5. WRITE ON.

The absolute best way to learn how to write is to do it. Put your fingers to keyboard or pen to paper and get going. You’ll find out a lot about yourself--what your strengths and weaknesses are, what you love about stories, just how much passion and creativity you have within you. Your book won’t get written with any of the above resources, though they will make your writing better. Your book will only get written when you decide to plant your butt in that chair and write it.

Good luck and happy writing!

Peace out,

Grace K.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page