top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrace Kaye

Every Thought You Have During NaNoWriMo



CAMP NANO STARTS IN 2 DAYS Y’ALL. With Camp NaNoWriMo just around the corner, I’m low-key freaking out and definitely underprepared. I’m also excited to get back to fast-drafting my novel. It’s a rollercoaster of emotion.

I’ve participated in 2 NaNoWriMos and 2 Camp NaNoWriMos so far, and this April I’m excited to jump back in. I feel like a pro by now, except I also feel like I have no idea what I’m doing. If you’ve been through a few NaNoWriMos like I have, you may relate to this list of every thought you have during Nano. If this is your first ride, well...buckle up buddy.

Every Thought You Have During NaNoWriMo:

  • WOO so excited! Let’s set my word goal at 50,000. Any less is for punks, right?

  • I’m going to get a head start. Totally going to crush my goal this month.

  • Ok, so I didn’t get a great headstart, but I spent a lot of time making a bangin’ cover for this book. So there's that.

  • Day one. I’m on a roll. Piece of cake. Totally conquered my daily goal.

  • Look I’m even writing out this whole synopsis and summary thing! Probably should have done this before Nano, but, hey, what can I say? I make procrastination into an art.

  • Day two. Still killing the game. My outline is so helpful.

  • Day three. I can divert from this outline a little. It's for a good scene anyway. This will be great. And word count.

  • Day four. I need like 100 more words to reach my goal today so...I guess my characters are going out for a wild night.

  • Wish I was out for a wild night.

  • I wonder if my friends saw through my excuse not to go out tonight. I couldn’t just tell them I was writing ...they wouldn’t get it.

  • TBH I barely get it.

  • I have my characters this is all I need.

  • Day five. I’m doing great. I can totally take a break and go easy on myself.

  • Day six. I shouldn’t have taken a break yesterday.

  • Day seven. It’s only been a week?!

  • Day eight. Today is my catchup day.

  • Day nine. Ok, TODAY is my catchup day.

  • Day ten. Remember that outline? I sure don’t.

  • Day eleven. Maybe I should just kill this dude. Sure, he’s my main character, but I also kind of hate him right now.

  • This story sucks.

  • Why did I do this.

  • Day twelve. A much needed break. Even though I’m under goal. Just one day won’t hurt anything.

  • Day thirteen. One day hurt everything.

  • Day fourteen. Maybe I should be reading these emails from Nano? I don’t know, some of the pep talks seem fun. Let me read every single one.

  • Well would you look at that, I only wrote 200 words today.

  • Day fifteen. I have become one with the coffee.

  • Day sixteen. I’m totally catching up!

  • Look at this, double my word count!!! Dreams do come true.

  • Still under goal though.

  • Day seventeen. Shit.

  • I did the thing.

  • The thing you’re never supposed to do.

  • I re-read what I’ve been writing.

  • It’s awful. Why did I do this. Who do I think I am

  • Day eighteen. A solid day.

  • Is it normal for your eye to twitch? When you've had six coffees in two hours I mean.

  • Day nineteen. You’re a queen. Self-care. You got this. More than halfway through.

  • Day twenty. ONLY TEN DAYS LEFT BITCH WORK IT

  • Day twenty one. Friends? Social life? I forgot about all that.

  • At least my characters will always be there for me.

  • Except Valerie, she's dying in two chapters.

  • Day twenty two. The end is so close I’m FREAKED

  • Day twenty three. I’m never do this again. This is hell.

  • Hello mom, yes, my mental state? Not great.

  • I'm not well.

  • Why, you ask? Just a personal goal I set for myself that I have no reason to actually to continue to reach except for the fact that I'm crazy.

  • Day twenty four. This is honestly self torture.

  • The only reason I’m still doing this is because I can’t just leave my characters hanging like this.

  • It would honestly just be rude.

  • Day twenty five. I just need words. They can be about anything. I just need words.

  • Day twenty six. Here’s this writing prompt that doesn’t even fit the time period or genre of my story.

  • I. Just. Need. Words.

  • Day twenty seven. I’m a failure I’m never going to make it.

  • Day twenty eight. Wait, yes, I'm totally going to make it.

  • Maybe not.

  • How much do I hate myself?

  • Day twenty nine. Writing all day all night gotta make it to that goooooal

  • Day thirty. The last day!!!!!!!!!!! Am I happy??? Am I sad??? I don’t know!! Just keep writing before midni—

  • Oh thank god.

  • It’s over.

  • That was a lot.

  • I get my life back? Kind of.

  • Still got to edit this shit.

  • Wait.

  • I JUST FINISHED A WHOLE BOOK.

  • Whether I reached my goal or not, I just wrote a whole book in one month.

  • *SOBS*

  • When can I sign up for the next Nano?

So there you have it. Relate to that? No? Oh well, there’s just a peek into my head as a girl who turns full on psychotic during Nano.

Good luck and happy writing!

Grace


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page